… is all that matters here!

I’ve been waiting for some wool nepps to arrive.

Wool nepps - 'bobbly bits'!

Wool nepps – ‘bobbly bits’!

Nepps are round, bobbly bits of wool that can be used in felting.  Gawd knows which part of the sheep they come from, but since I saw some on a website I’ve been itching to get my hands on some.

They arrived yesterday.

As I’d had a while to let my imagination run riot while I was waiting for Canadian and Australia Posts to talk to each other, I came upon a variation on a theme.  Another beach, only this time, instead of turning it into a realistic painting, I wanted to make it more impressionistic.

What was I going to do with my bobbly bits?

When I saw a photo of nepps, they reminded me of the smooth small pebbles I’d enjoyed sitting on when I was at Monaco another lifetime ago.

In the felt painting I envisaged, these little nepps would make great closeup grains of sand.

I’ve made this one a long, thin wall hanging 27 x 50 cm approximately.  It has lovely bright colours that flow from deep blue sky, to turquoise ocean, to yellow sandy beach, to white dunes with sand and some impressions of grass and rock/shell details.

Nepps layout

Nepps layout

The nepps were a little harder to felt than regular wool tops, but I persevered and most of them felted in.  I rather like the effect.

Ocean Sparkle

While I was ordering the nepps, I also ordered three little bags of different coloured Angelina Fibre.  This is great stuff and extremely reflective.  Less is more with this stuff unless you’re going for a disco look.

I added a few strands on top of the white silk tops that highlighted the waves rolling onto the beach. At different angles the light catches the fibre, and it looks like ocean spray sparkling in the sun.

Tiny threads of angelina fibre on top of the silk tops, to create 'ocean spray' effect.

Tiny threads of angelina fibre on top of the silk tops, to create ‘ocean spray’ effect.

The finished wall hanging

So, here it is, and I’m very happy with the result.  I like the longer thinner shape of this one.

Beach wall hanging, drying

Beach wall hanging, drying

I think the colours work well, and there’s enough detail to make it interesting without overdoing it… keeping it simple.

It is a style I will use again.

What next?

I have another piece of felt batt that I used as my ‘canvas’, so I want to make another wall hanging in a similar impressionistic style.

Not sure yet whether to do another beach scene, so I have a diptych, or a different theme altogether.

Comments on: "New wall hanging – with bobbly bits!" (2)

  1. Whenever I’ve used wool nepps they never seem to felt in as much as I’d like them to. I might have to take them off one of my nuno felted scarves (they are barely attached) or someone wearing it may look like they have a bad case of dandruff.

    The nepps are ideal for your beach though. I suppose you need enough wool behind them to hold them in place, and I added mine as an afterthought. Will try a beach scene next after I’ve finished playing around with dyes. I agree that the longer thinner shape looks good.

    • “Dandruff” lol.

      Yes, I was wondering how to attach them easier next time. I did have four layers of wool, behind them, so I might try the barest minimum of unbleached rovings over the top, just a few whisps and see if that makes a difference. Get the glue effect without it being obvious.

      Look forward to seeing your beach scene. 🙂

Leave a comment

Salty tales from Bali Hai on Sunday

After a break from cruising of nearly 30 years, we are sailing to the Indonesian Islands on our yacht Bali Hai

SV Acheron

A Mediterranean Odyssey

ocean-pilgrim: Life on Water

Life in the Med, on Intention

esothemes

Reflections, revelations and proposals esoteric: Themes to elucidate the depths of human potential.

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

Open the Door to Your Inner World

Access: Transformational Energy, Guidance, Creativity, Life Purpose

The Procrastinator Dyer's Diary

A Journal of Observations

Beesybee fiber's Blog

Life in West Marin seen through the eye of a needle

Principally felt

experiments in life, decorative felt, nuno, knit felt and mosaic

Obovate Designs™

My dabbling and exploration in contact printing, natural dyeing, and soap making

nancybrownstudio

murals, textiles, ceramics, screenprints, festivals, community

THREADBORNE

Fibre Art, Eco Printing, Natural Dyeing, Book Arts

vintage country style

my move to countryside and planning a crafts business

MarmaladeRose

... is all that matters here!

Hearts Landscapes

... is all that matters here!

Colour Cottage

little house in a field

dedepuppets

dada inspired hand puppets

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff