… is all that matters here!

Felting has had to wait this morning as the chook (chicken) house needed reinforcing against the elements. Spring has sprung and it is a great time to do those chores around the property that were neglected for a bit to long over the last few months.

Chook house front, showing tarp on top.

Chook house front, showing tarp on top.

Today was the day the chookies got a renovated chook house.

They live in a converted children’s playhouse.  The roof developed a leak and the window which lost its plastic years ago, was in need of something to keep the rain from soaking the poor darlings and their straw.  Because when it rains here, it rains BIG.

Armed with new tarpaulin, good rope and lots of duct tape that is one of those miraculous inventions in my opinion, my dog and I got stuck into the task.

Despite the lively breeze it wasn’t too tricky getting the tarp over the roof, and luckily I remembered a few handy knots to fasten it to the star poles and surrounding wire fence. I also tied the back piece of the tarp to the nearest tree, and so the bark wouldn’t get damaged, I used some folded over plastic as cushioning.

It will definitely survive the rain, and stop leaks.  Hopefully it won’t blow off in the first windy storm.  Time will tell with that one.

Next came the window that used to have two sliding plastic window panes in it,  but they have long since cracked and gone.  Amazingly, a black plastic bag and carpet tape have done the job of plugging the gaping hole for over 5 years, but I think with one puff of wind this season the bag would disintegrate into a cloud of black ribbons.

2013-09-05 13.41.53This time I used a large piece of bubble wrap – courtesy of my Felting Department lol – so I cleaned away the old bag, the dust and cobwebs where I wanted to stick it down and got carried away with the duct tape.  Inside and out, the new bubble wrap window sports a rather fetching silver frame that I’m hoping will last as long as the previous ‘window’.

After poking a few small holes in the bubble wrap, I was satisfied that it would allow air movement and not get blown out in the next gale.

Finishing the job with a much needed muck out and laying down some barley hay, my chookies dubiously came to check their place out.

I think it got the seal of approval, because not five minutes after I had finished the revamp when one chook got comfy in the nesting box.

Renovated chicken house window and happy laying chook

Renovated chicken house window and happy laying chook

Quite a good morning’s work, I reckon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

esothemes

Reflections, revelations and proposals esoteric: Themes to elucidate the depths of human potential.

Open the Door to Your Inner World

Access: Transformational Energy, Guidance, Creativity, Life Purpose

The Procrastinator Dyer's Diary

A Journal of Observations

Beesybee fiber's Blog

Life in West Marin seen through the eye of a needle

Principally felt

experiments in life, decorative felt, nuno, knit felt and mosaic

Obovate Designs™

My dabbling and exploration in contact printing, natural dyeing, and soap making

nancybrownstudio

murals, textiles, ceramics, screenprints, festivals, community

Threadborne

Fibre Art, Eco Printing, Artists' Books, Vintage Textiles

Joni Phippin

I make therefore I am.

vintage country style

my move to countryside and planning a crafts business

MarmaladeRose

... is all that matters here!

Hearts Landscapes

... is all that matters here!

Colour Cottage

yarnie, picturemaker, horsenut

dedepuppets

dada inspired hand puppets

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

